Resident Arthroplasty Course

The AAHKS Resident Arthroplasty Course

The Annual Resident Course takes place on Friday, November 3, 2017 from 7:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m. just before the start of the AAHKS Annual Meeting general session at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas. The 2017 course has filled, and we are no longer accepting applications.

About the Course

AAHKS sponsors the Annual Resident Arthroplasty Course that takes place just before the AAHKS Annual Meeting. AAHKS has specifically created this course for PGY3 orthopaedic residents. Course attendees receive free tuition for both the Resident Arthroplasty Course and the AAHKS Annual Meeting. In addition, AAHKS provides airfare up to $500, lodging, and meals.

This course provides residents with the opportunity to learn the latest information regarding total joint arthroplasty from nationally renowned experts. The meeting includes both didactic and small group sessions where surgical techniques and cases will be reviewed. This is a unique learning experience and includes significant interaction with the faculty. AAHKS selects 120 residents from the United States and Canada who are eligible to participate in this learning opportunity.


7:00 – 7:04 a.m. Welcome
Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc

7:05 – 7:09 a.m. AAHKS: An Introduction to the Organization
Mark I. Froimson, MD, MBA

7:10 – 7:18 a.m. Why Choose a Career in Adult Reconstructive Surgery?
Michael E. Berend, MD

Primary Knee Arthroplasty
Moderator: Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc

7:19 – 7:27 a.m. Unicompartmental Knee Arthroplasty
Ryan M. Nunley, MD

7:28 – 7:36 a.m. Basic Principles of TKA: CR, PS and Ultra-Congruent Articulations
Samuel S. Wellman, MD

7:37 – 7:45 a.m. Managing Varus and Valgus deformities in TKA: The Basics
Matthew S. Austin, MD

7:46 – 7:54 a.m. Perioperative Pain Control in Total Joint Arthroplasty
R. Michael Meneghini, MD

7:55 – 8:03 a.m. Discussion and Question/Answer Session

Primary THA & Hip Preservation
Moderator: Samuel S. Wellman, MD

8:04 – 8:12 a.m. Femoroacetabular Impingement and Dysplasia – Diagnosis and Treatment
John C. Clohisy, MD

8:13 – 8:21 a.m. Acetabular and Femoral Component Positioning in Primary THA
Michael P. Bolognesi, MD

8:22 – 8:30 a.m. Choosing a Bearing in Primary THA
Matthew P. Abdel, MD

8:31 – 8:39 a.m. Discussion and Question/Answer Session

Revision Hip and Knee Arthroplasty
Moderator: Matthew S. Austin, MD

8:40 – 8:48 a.m. Diagnosis of Periprosthetic Joint Infection
Bryan D. Springer, MD

8:49 – 8:57 a.m. Evaluation of the Painful TKA
William L. Griffin, MD

8:58 – 9:06 a.m. Principles of Revision TKA
Douglas A. Dennis, MD

9:07 – 9:15 a.m. Evaluation and Treatment of the Unstable THA
Craig J. Della Valle, MD

9:16 – 9:24 a.m. Managing Femoral and Acetabular Bone Loss in Revision THA: Basic Concepts
Scott M. Sporer, MD

9:25 – 9:33 a.m. Periprosthetic Fractures of the Hip: Basic Principles
Gwo-Chin Lee, MD

9:34 – 9:44 a.m. Discussion and Question/Answer Session

9:45 – 11:35 a.m. Case Based Learning Breakout Sessions Opal/Coral/Emerald/Governors/Sapphire/Topaz

11:35 Working lunch break.

11:40 – 11:44 a.m. Introduction of the Guest Speaker
Gregory G. Polkowski, MD, MSc

11:45 a.m. – 12:40 p.m. Lunch and Guest Address, “One Step Forward, Two Steps Back”
John J. Callaghan, MD

12:45 – 2:30 p.m. Case Based Learning Breakout Sessions Opal/Coral/Emerald/Governors/Sapphire/Topaz

Case Based Breakout Sessions 

Opal: Life after Residency: Choosing a Practice
Michael E. Berend, MD, Brian S. Parsley, MD, Michael J. Taunton, MD

Coral: Revision TKA
Matthew S. Austin, MD, Joseph T. Moskal, MD, FACS, Gwo-Chin Lee, MD, Curtis W. Hartman, MD

Emerald: Revision THA
Douglas E. Padgett, MD, Daniel Oakes, MD, Matthew P. Abdel, MD, Jeremy M. Gililland, MD

Governors: FAI, DDH, and Hip Preservation
John C. Clohisy, MD, Gregory G. Polkowski II, MD, MSc, Ryan M. Nunley, MD, Jonathan M. Vigdorchik, MD

Sapphire: Principles of Primary TKA
Samuel S. Wellman, MD, James Huddleston, Stefano A. Bini, MD, Brian M. Curtin, MD

Topaz: Principles of Primary THA
William L. Griffin, MD, Ran Schwarzkopf, MD, MSc, Thorsten M. Seyler, MD, PhD, Jeffrey A. Geller, MD